David A. Grimes, M.D.
Home | Lancet profile | Clinical Research Course | Recent books | Curriculum vitae | Links to UNC | Research interests | In the news | Contact information | Advocacy for Reproductive Rights | National and international teaching
Advocacy for Reproductive Rights

Click here for a presentation on Misogyny and Women's Health, University of Wisconsin, September 18, 2014


Long a champion of women's reproductive rights, Dr. Grimes brings the most credible medical and public health evidence to bear on important policy issues.  He has testified or spoken on behalf of women's reproductive rights in Congress, the Food and Drug Administration, the World Health Organization, state and federal courts, and on national television.  In recognition of his leadership, he has been honored by the ACLU, the American Public Health Association, Planned Parenthood Federation of America, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and national family planning associations.
  • Christopher Tietze Humanitarian Award, National Abortion Federation
  • Carl Schultz Award, Population and Family Planning Section, American  Public Health Association     
  •  Fundamental Right of Reproductive Freedom Award, American Civil Liberties Union of Southern California
  • Alan Guttmacher Lectureship, Association of  Reproductive Health Professionals
  • Distinguished Service Award, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  • Gallagher Lecturer, Society for Adolescent Medicine
  • Keynote Speaker, Kenya Obstetrical and Gynaecological Society
  • Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award, The National Family Planning and Reproductive Health Association, Inc.
  • Honorable Mention, Special Service Award, National Association for Women’s Health
  • Irvin Cushner Memorial Lecturer, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  • Michael S. Burnhill Memorial Lecturer, Planned Parenthood Federation of America
  • Sir John Dewhurst, M.D., Lectureship, North American   Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology
  • Pouru Bhiwandiwala Leadership Award, Ipas
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Society of Family Planning